It’s all a figment of my mind.

Hawkwind have been a fixture in my life since some time in the late 70’s. I think I went to see them 2-3 times a year during most of the eighties, usually at the Liverpool Empire, often in St. Helen’s and Preston as well as brief forays to Warrington and Wigan. space

I have to admit I don’t always have a clear recollection of the gigs. Usually waking up with throbbing ears and an aching body. They used to be entire body experiences. I remember one time I think on the Choose Your Masques tour a stage invasion and some sort of collapse as Nik Turner honked his way painted silver on roller skates or some other foolishness. They were incredible joyous experiences regardless of the lack of ability of the band.

Once the Hawkwind sound of bleeping synths, churning guitars throbbing bass and implacable drums hit you there is no hope. They were the original anarcho hippie collective space bandits. I have to admit the lyrics are at best silly at worst embarrassing but it’s all part of the fun and games with fire eaters dancers and sword waving mimes, what more could you want. They can make spinal tap look reasonable and they do it all with a cheeky grin.

This is why a white vinyl version of X In Search of Space, the first wholly coherent, well as coherent as they get, album by Hawkwind makes me so happy. Still no Lemmy on bass on this one but Amon Duuls Dave Anderson does a great job and titles like You Shouldn’t Do That , We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago as well as Master of the Universe can only add to the excitement. It is a churning mess, at times terrifying and at other times oddly reassuring and wholly disquieting. The next album would blow the lid but this one is a taste of things to come.

Enough of that though, here we have this weeks haul from browsing the local thrift stores and garage sales. Some of the sleeves have seen better days but the vinyl is fine, well loved would be my description I have to admit to being a little over excited by the Police, Dylan and Elvis albums.

the haul

Yes the Eagles are there, it is one of the best selling records of all time so I felt I had to buy it and it was surprisingly fun to listen to this weekend. It does have the good grace to stop before they became too self important and bloated.

2 thoughts on “It’s all a figment of my mind.

Leave a Reply

