Sometimes I need you wild…

Transported to a strange place by the stark compositions on Songs from A Room. Sitting in the dark with only the faint crackle of the 47 year old vinyl as the stylus creates the sounds to fill the space.

roomI have to admit this is the very first Leonard Cohen I have ever listened to in it’s entirety, I am on my third play and every listen is as fresh as the first which is really a novel experience in a jaded world of downloads and streaming. There is no brick walling of the sound and it seems that Laughing Len is in the room with me mumbling his exotic lyrics in my ear.

Truth be told it’s just a great album and the back cover captures a time and a place so well as Marianne sits in that stark otherworldly room in Greece.

It’s a truly powerful experience, go for it turn the lights down and huddle with Len as he narrates his stories into the dark.

8 thoughts on “Sometimes I need you wild…

  1. I may be quite biased (haha OK I definitely am biased) but I don’t think you can go wrong with any of his records. Readandhear is right, the Songs albums are great, but I like the other stuff too. If you start at the beginning now and work your way through, you can hear his grow and become and experiment and be a little goofy and generally be awesome and insightful and beautiful. A perfect storm of humour, sexy and poetry.

  2. Tim Brosnan

    Reblogged this on The Eclectic Ear and commented:
    Some interesting observations about Leonard Cohen from a fellow blogger. I know I give Lenny big respect for Hallelujah and Bernadette but,,,, Thanks Neil!

  3. Tim Brosnan

    Reblogged this on The Eclectic Ear and commented:
    Some interesting observations about Leonard Cohen from a fellow blogger. I know I give Lenny big respect for Hallelujah and Bernadette but,,,, Thanks Neil!

  4. Tim Brosnan

    Reblogged this on The Eclectic Ear and commented:
    Some interesting observations about Leonard Cohen from a fellow blogger. I know I give Lenny big respect for Hallelujah and Bernadette but,,,, Thanks Neil!

Leave a Reply

