And so all my love songs fall on wasted ears…

I had big plans for my 201st post. It’s a landmark moment, 201 of my thoughts, however scattered or disjointed they may be on the page. I have always liked the idea of a journal but often wondered what would go down on paper, however virtual, Now I know the same crap that rattles around in my brain on a day to day basis. Unfortunately it now has an outlet.

Anyway the reality was just like in real life I got distracted by something shiny, or in this case Mr. Chang’s White Album installation. This is indicative of how my brain works. Look something fun/shiny/interesting let’s look at it.

So here we are the 202nd post. It is going to be amazing, a big picture extravaganza. Deep thoughts and shallow comments surrounding an enlightening insight into my twistedly mundane life. (autocorrect suggest stiltedly there which may be more correct)

The other day my friend Greg and I were reminiscing about some strange experience we had shared even though we were separated by 6000 miles in the early 90’s. I have no idea what the experience may have been, it probably involved a certain amount of inappropriateness, it was likely about some gig or album, truth be told I have no idea because we have one of these conversations just about every day. Our young colleague turned to us and said she was jealous of our exciting lives.

After a moments thought it dawned on me that as I reach fifty it’s just that I have been alive twice as long as most of my work colleagues. It’s not that my life was more exciting just that I have had more of it. Of course you would not necessarily talk about the mundane moments in life I pointed out to her. Greg disagreed at this point, he is convinced his life is really that exciting.

Most of this weeks listening has been Blitzen Trapper, the local Portland boys made semi-good. I forgot to buy tickets for their gig tomorrow and am now trying to decide if I should pay a scalper, more likely I will sit home and try and remember next time. ( I decided not to pay the $90 in the end and tomorrow is now five days ago)

I have worked my way through most of their back catalog this week. It’s an trapperinteresting experience veering from southern rock sounding strut to down home camp fire singalong and a strange attempt at rap with acoustic instruments.

Banjo’s plucked and then the next moment foot on the monitor soloing. Their records always make me smile in their eclecticism, obviously records made by record fans. Good time music from the pacific north west. There has never really it appears been the need to define their sound, although they managed to sound like Queen performing folk music on Destroyer of the Void.

They have a new album out, All Across this Land which follows the usual journey. Rockers and foot stomping all in place. It’s Americana I guess but with a sense of humor. The album is reminiscent of the usual names thrown about when an American band go all roots based or in this case stay all roots based. Americana however misses the point. I guess that’s listening to Blitzen Trapper though, you feel like you have been rolling around in the trappings of rock and roll and folk, you should emerge with less teeth and a jug of moonshine in your hand at the end of the experience with a big grin and leap right back in immediately as you get the feeling you may have missed the point.

I just ordered their live record of Neil Young’s Harvest which is incidentally my first ever foray into Record Store Day purchasing even if it is several months after the release. Somehow I now feel a little grubby for getting involved. Much grubbier than if I spent the day rooting around in the moldy crates of vinyl in a thrift store.

So there it is 202 posts on something that started out as a misguided attempt to read the best of science fiction, morphed into something and is now an attempt to record some vague description of my listening habits. The lists are still coming along and I can now finally say categorically that I have listened to Tales From Topographic Oceans more than 10 times and now find myself humming snatches of melody from it as I drive/work or walk.

One thought on “And so all my love songs fall on wasted ears…

Leave a Reply

