Death by reputation…

I have several Leo Kotke albums and they are some of my favorite late night listening moments.

kotkeI have never seen him live but will do eventually if I am lucky. His legendary monologues are something I would like to hear. His sleeve notes are a lot of fun although this eponymous album has none, or at least none that came with the copy I have. I have another album that’s sleeve notes cover ice fishing, frostbite and nuns so I feel like I am missing something.

It’s a pleasant listen with engaging finger picked guitars and some sweet Jack Nitzsche orchestral additions that work nebraskasurprisingly well over Kotke’s slide guitar. I have always really liked the sound of a twelve string played with a slide and Kotke is the master of this.

So after a hectic and fraught week during which the listening has centered mostly around Springsteen’s harrowing Nebraska album this effort by Kotke, the first on the Chrysalis label managed to get my head back in gear. Ready to make the last push to finish moving my house and my kids.

6 thoughts on “Death by reputation…

  1. Good luck with the move. Yikes. Just imagining moving house brings me out in a cold sweat.
    I’ve accumulated a few more Leo K LPs in the past couple of years – he’s rather neglected, possibly because the songs are a bit patchy. But what a great guitarist.

    1. It’s not that bad and the downsizing has been fun. This was our 16th move and only 12 miles this time. It will all be over this week though for a good while.
      Leo is a better player than singer it is true and I think rivals Fahey for his picking.

  2. I’m not familiar with Leo Kotke but your post is interesting. “Harrowing” makes me think that I need to listen to Nebraska again. “Atlantic City” is one of my favorite Springsteen songs.
    Good luck with the rest of your move and glad it’s been going ok so far.

Leave a Reply

