I’ve been awake too long and I’m wondering why…

My friend Andy when I wanted to go all Prog copewould make me listen to this and World Shut Your Mouth.

It’s maybe not the best Julian Cope album ever but it is a whole lot of fun. The tour featured Cope swinging from a mic stand he could climb up on and swing around on like some crazed rock’n’roll monkey.

Soon after this and My Nation Underground Cope stopped even pretending to want to have hit’s and in true rock maverick sense headed for the gutter coming out the other side the arch-drude and with some of his greatest albums ahead of him as well as academic success.

If you want to hear a great power punk/pop record with a sense of humor this is the one, especially Eve’s Volcano and Spacehopper. It is not Cope’s favorite but it does have some great moments and it was always good to bounce around to on a Saturday night and may have saved me from some serious Prog Rock excesses.

131Right now I am reading his novel One Three One, subtitled “A Time-Shifting Gnostic Hooligan Road Novel”, which is requiring way more attention than I really thought it would keeping all the various time streams in place never mind understanding what is going on.

It is an entertaining read though and strangely draws you in with the thought how much of this is really based on reality?

12 thoughts on “I’ve been awake too long and I’m wondering why…

  1. Hi Neil,
    I found a live clip of Spacehopper and it sounds great. The song got better when he monkey-hopped and crawled across the stage stopping to kiss audience members. I imagine his book is interesting and I’d guess leaning toward non-fiction.

      1. verian

        I like them too, but I have to be in the right mood for them. Same as the ambient albums. If I had to pick a favourite it would probably be the World Shut Your Mouth album though I don’t think I can quantify why.

      2. I bought World Shut Your Mouth during the summer of Live Aid it served as a panacea to my friends countless tapes of that show.
        I Love Autogeddon though, it may be my favorite

Leave a Reply

